Thrive Nutrition and Wellness Coaching

Creating healthier lives….

Hazelnut, Cinnamon and Nutmeg Pancakes

on August 23, 2012

The kids asked me for pancakes this morning. Usually, I make pancakes with some kind of fruit in them, but as we are in desperate need for a trip to the store, (because it’s summer and I tend to be a bit lazy with getting errands done…)  I didn’t have much fruit to choose from.  So, I came up with these.  And they both gave me A+’s…so I thought I had better share the recipe.

1 cup WHOLE wheat flour or WHOLE wheat pastry flour (whatever flour you choose, make sure the word WHOLE is listed in front of the flour.)

2 tsp. flax meal

large pinch of sea salt

large pinch of nutmeg

2 tsp. cinnamon

2 tsp. baking powder

1/3 cup roasted ground hazelnuts

2 Tbsp. evaporated cane juice, honey or agave

1/3 cup almond milk

2/3 cup water

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

Mix dry ingredients.  Mix wet.  Being careful not to overmix, mix wet and dry together. In a lightly greased skillet,  drop batter to make pancakes.  Flip when golden.  Cook and flip until golden on the other side.  Serve with natural nut butter and a little drizzle of agave or pure maple syrup.

Makes 7 pancakes.

Nutritional Info (per pancake): 110 calories, 2.85 grams fat, 19.4 grams carb, 3 grams protein, 3.1 grams fiber

