Thrive Nutrition and Wellness Coaching

Creating healthier lives….

Grilled Veggie Paninis

on May 8, 2012

Last night I was inspired by Rip Esselstyn’s Engine 2 documentary.  He created what looked like a delicious veggie panini.  I thought I would give it a try (with my own spin) for tonight’s dinner and my family absolutely loved it.

1 recipe Smoky Hummus (recipe follows)

8 slices whole grain bread (we like Dave’s Killer Bread or Ezekiel Bread)

2 tomatoes

1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes

1 cup fresh greens

1 medium can sliced olives

On the bread add plenty of the smoky hummus spread.  Layer the rest of the ingredients.  Heat a grill pan very hot and add paninis.  Put a plate on top of the sandwiches and add some weight.  (I used a 8 pound gym weight from the garage.)  Grill for 4-5 minutes, depending on how hot your pan is.  Flip sandwiches and add plate and weight again to the top.  Grill another 3-4 minutes.  Serve warm with a fresh green salad on the side.

